Who’s gonna be next Council Chairman?

ENARADA, Bengaluru, June 22, 2016

D.H.Shankarmurthy, Chairman, Karnataka Legislative Council

D.H.Shankarmurthy, Chairman, Karnataka Legislative Council. Photo: www.enarada.com

After ensuring victory for four of its candidates, the Siddaramaiah-led Congress government is now eyeing the Chairman of Legislative Council post.

Currently, the post is held by DH Shankaramurthy of BJP.

Till now, BJP was in a majority and it had a tactic understanding with the JD(S); BJP had held the chairman’s post, while the vice-chairman’s post was held by JD(S) member Maritibbe Gowda.

However, following the recent MLC elections, the numbers have swung in favour of Congress which can now easily claim the chairman’s post. As a result, one can see a series of activities both in the Congress and BJP camps.

Meanwhile, Legislative Council chairman DH Shankaramurthy had recently met former Prime Minister and JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda at the latter’s residence.

When contacted by Enarada, Shankaramurthy claimed that it was merely a courtesy call and he did not discuss anything related to politics.

However, the political grapevine is that BJP is now trying to garner support from the JD(S). Sources in the JD(S) camp said that Deve Gowda was in not favour of supporting the Congress party and if he takes a stance of supporting the BJP, then both the BJP and JD(S) can have one more set of arrangement of sharing the Chairman and Deputy Chairman’s post.

Now, all eyes are on Mr Gowda’s next move!

Party strength in Karnataka Legislative Council

vidhana Soudha


Total seats-75

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Place your Ads here

Follow us