Karnataka to vote on May 12

eNarada, Bengaluru, Tuesday, March 27, 2018


Ending days of speculation, the Election commission has announced that Karnataka Assembly elections will be held on May 12, while the counting of votes will be held on May 15. Explaining the reason for delay in announcing the poll dates,

Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said that the Commission has prepared the Schedules for holding general elections after taking into consideration all relevant aspects like climatic conditions, academic calendar, major festivals, prevailing law and order situation in the State, availability of Central Police Forces, time needed for movement, transportation and timely deployment of forces and in-depth assessment of other relevant ground realities. It will be a single phase polls in the state.

VVPATs will be used along with EVMs in all 56,696 Polling Stations of 224 Assembly Constituencies to enhance the transparency and credibility of the elections. On a pilot basis, VVPAT from One Polling Station in each Assembly Constituency will be randomly selected to count VVPAT paper slips for verification of the result obtained from the control unit.

Date of issue of gazette notification-April 17

Last of nominations-April 24

Last date for withdrawal of candidature-April 27

Election date-May 12

Date of counting-May 15

Date before the election shall be completed-May 18

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Place your Ads here

Follow us